21 May — 5 June 2016
V Lucrezia ens


Symphonia Angelica

May 26

Price: 4.700 ISK.

A dramatic musical story about joy, grief, beauty and ugliness by baroque ensemble Symphonia Angelica.
Lucrezia, a beautiful woman of a high-class, lived in Rome around 500 years BC at the time when dictator King L. Tarquinius Superbus reigned. His son, Sextus, raped Lucrezia and out of shame she committed suicide. As a result a revolution broke out and the Roman republic was established.
The Cantata La Lucrezia by Händel is a monologue based on the young woman’s fate where the audience joins Lucrezia on an emotional journey. Händel conveys the story of Lucrezia in a genial way with beautiful melodies, agitated recitatives and magical coloraturas.
Baroque ensemble Symphonia Angelica consists of Icelandic musicians with international careers. Their approach is fresh and conceptual with a lot of creative freedom to enhance the connection to the audience.
The works of French composer Elisabeth-Claude Jacquet de la Guerre as well as Johann Adolph Hasse, Henry Purcell and Antonio Vivaldi are interwoven with the story and connected through improvisation to create fluidity in the narrative of the evening.
Artistic directors: Sigurður Halldórsson og Sigríður Ósk Kristjánsdóttir.
Henry Purcell:
Sonata in G minor
Aria “Scherza Infida” from Ariodante
Elisabeth-Claude Jacquet de la Guerre:
Ouverture  – Aria “Non, vivez, je le veux” from Cephale et Procris 
A. Vivaldi:
Simphony in C major 
G.F. Händel
Cantata – La Lucrezia HWV 145 
Elisabeth-Claude Jacquet de la Guerre:
J.A.Hasse/N. Porpora (1699–1783)
Or la nube procellosa from Artaserse
Mezzo Soprano: Sigríður Ósk Kristjánsdóttir
Cellist: Sigurður Halldórsson
Harpsichordist: Halldór Bjarki Arnarson
First violin: Hildigunnur Halldórsdóttir
Second violin: Guðbjörg Hlín Guðmundsdóttir
Violist: Þóra Margrét Sveinsdóttir
Guitar and lute: Arngeir Heiðar Hauksson